Helping Councils be "Better Together!"

About Us

About CoLAB

CoLAB was initially established to provide the local authorities in the Waikato Region with a vehicle to procure shared services.

The key purpose of CoLAB has evolved and it now drives collaboration between councils, and aims to improve customer service and performance, and to reduce costs.


Some of the CoLAB achievements are Shared Valuation Data Service (SVDS), Local Government Health & Safety Pre-qualification Scheme, Insurance, Waikato Building Consent Group, Road Asset Technical Accord (RATA), Waikato Regional Transport Model (WRTM), Future Proof, Aligned Resource Consent Planning, Regional Infrastructure Technical Specifications (RITS), Collaboration Agreement with Energy Efficiency Conservation Authority (EECA), Professional Services Panel (PSP), IT Professional Services Panel, Waikato Regional Aerial Photography Service (WRAPS), and more.

Working Parties

Much of the work of CoLAB is undertaken by Working Parties or Advisory Groups made up of staff representatives from the shareholding councils, with expertise and interest in particular services.

Member councils pay a small annual levy, depending on their size. Services provided by CoLAB are funded on a user pays basis - each council pays for and receives the financial benefit of its share of any particular service.


CoLAB is a company owned by twelve councils – Waikato Regional, Hamilton City, Hauraki District, Matamata Piako District, Otorohanga District, Rotorua District, South Waikato District, Thames Coromandel District, Waikato District, Waipa District, Waitomo District, and Western Bay of Plenty District Council.

Our Values

The company was established in 2005 to promote shared services between local authorities across the Waikato region. By working together, CoLAB can reduce costs, achieve effectiveness and efficiency gains, reduce duplication of effort and eliminate waste through repetition, promote and contribute to the development of best practice, and improve customers’ experiences.

Board of Directors

The CoLAB Board has six directors - an independent Chair and council representatives appointed by: - Hamilton City Council - Waikato Regional Council - Central Waikato (representing Waikato and Waipa District Councils) - East Waikato (representing Hauraki, Matamata-Piako and Thames-Coromandel District Councils) - South Waikato (representing Otorohanga, Rotorua, South Waikato, and Waitomo District Councils)